Skip to content
12/11/2011 / Ruth Perry

REST IN THE LORD!


This week I received a letter, and e-mail and a telephone call from three different friends. Each one was expressing discouragement about the way their life currently is.  I responded to all three giving them encouragement and positive feedback of the influence their lives have had on me. I also gave them scripture to try to calm their restless feeling.

One of the conversations went something like this.

“Do you ever feel like you’ve lived your whole life in vain?”

“Goodness, no,” I replied, “and how can you feel like that when you hold those beautiful grandchildren in your arms, smothering them with kisses?”

“Well, I didn’t look at it like that. I guess I do have something to live for.”

After trying to encourage her and visiting for a few minutes I hung up the phone.  I said a brief prayer to God for her and went on about my day’s business. But that phone call kept coming to my mind and I started wondering how many people really do feel that way? I decided to write a letter to that dear friend, telling her how she can have a new love for life in Jesus if she would ask Him for forgiveness and let Him come into her life. Sometimes when we are so low in spirit we just need to pray as a father prayed to Jesus in Mark 9:24, “I do believe; help my unbelief.”

If I couldn’t go to God in prayer each day with my frustrations and to thank Him for my joys I know I could not face the day’s problems either. Folks, we have the greatest power ever within our reach! We need to spread the Good News!

In John 10:10 Jesus told us, “The thief comes only to steal, and kill, and destroy; I came that they might have life, and might have it abundantly.” Does that sound like Jesus doesn’t care about us? We, as Christians, have a great responsibility to tell those around us who are hurting and discouraged about Christ’s undying love for us. We need to be able to testify of God’s ability to change lives! Please be ready to help those who are asking for help, even when they don’t realize they are.

Remember, life without God is like an unsharpened pencil. IT HAS NO POINT!